2006 Montgomery All-Gazette Boys Soccer

Friday, Dec. 15, 2006

Click here to enlarge this photo
j. adam Fenster⁄the gazette
The 2006 All-Gazette Boys Soccer First Team. Front row (left to right): Kevin Seeger, Josh Zipin, George Marchant, Daniel Ankrah, Levi Houapeu, Will Vernigor, Fro Adu; back row: Alex Asare-Wassow, Alex Lee, Cooper Tilton, Neil Vranis, Player of the Year Lucas Szabo, Rodney Wallace, Edgar Lopez and Coach of the Year Mike Williams. Not pictured: Nirav Kadam.

Player of the Year

Lucas Szabo

Walter Johnson, Jr., Forward

Scored 17 goals after missing early season with broken arm, but truly stood out by scoring game-winning goals in three consecutive playoff games, leading Wildcats to state title.

Coach of the Year

Mike Williams

Walter Johnson, 2nd year

Led Wildcats to share of state championship (with Thomas Johnson). After losing four of five games in one stretch, led team on 10-game unbeaten streak.

Fro Adu - Georgetown Prep - Sr. - Defense

George Mason signee anchored defense and led team to share of IAC title.

Daniel Ankrah - Watkins Mill - Sr. - Midfield

Speedster was engine that drove Wolverines to eight-game unbeaten streak.

Alex Asare-Wassow - Blair - Sr. - Defense

One of county’s fastest defenders able to cut off runs from opposing forwards.

Levi Houapeu - Watkins Mill - Sr. - Forward

Ivory Coast native scored 18 goals, leading Wolverines for second year in row.

Edgar Lopez - Richard Montgomery - Sr. - Goalkeeper

Meant everything to struggling Rockets, even scoring some goals himself.

Nirav Kadam - Northwest - Sr. - Forward

Fleet-footed forward led Jaguars to best season in school history.

Alex Lee - Magruder - Sr. - Forward

Arguably county’s best goal-scorer, had 19 for team in unbeaten regular season.

George Marchant - Walter Johnson - Sr. - Midfield

Second-leading goal scorer for state-champion Wildcats made crucial plays.

Kevin Seeger - Northwest - Sr. - Defense

Big center back steered stingiest defense in county, allowing only eight goals.

Cooper Tilton - Magruder - Sr. - Defense

Unheralded star shut down opponents’ top scorers all season long.

Will Vernigor - Whitman - Sr. - Forward

Small, but blazingly fast, made key run that got Vikings to regional final.

Neil Vranis - Churchill - Jr. - Midfield

Big, strong and fast, anchored most physically imposing midfield in county.

Rodney Wallace - Bullis - Sr. - Midfield

Midfielder who played like forward, led Bullis to three-way share of IAC title.

Josh Zipin - Blair - Sr. - Midfield

Playmaker in middle led Blazers to first division title since 1983.

Second team

Andrew Boisvert

Quince Orchard, Sr., M

Kyle Cassidy

Sandy Spring Friends, Sr., F

Andres Chavarria

Watkins Mill, Sr., D

Brian Heffner

Gaithersburg, Jr., G

Russell Karn

Poolesville, Sr., M

Tim Kovack

Seneca Valley, Jr., F

Michael Lansing

Magruder, Jr., M

Scott Phinith

Magruder, Sr., M

Michael Ramsey

Walter Johnson, Sr., D

Marcus Ranney

Wootton, Sr., M

William Snyderwine

Landon, Sr., F

Teddy Stevens

Whitman, Sr., G

Jung Woo

Paint Branch, Sr., F

Lamboni Yendoukoa

Blair, Sr., F

Zach Zimmer

Bullis, Jr., F

Honorable mention

Johnny Daniels (G. Prep, Sr., M)

Kevin Dansky (Churchill, So., F)

Edwin Granados (Paint Branch, So., F)

Drew Hock (Sherwood, Fr., G)

Justin Lee (Magruder, Jr., D)

Mike Montross (B-CC, Sr., M)

Roslin Nzokou (Kennedy, Sr., D)

Ethan Price-Chu(Sandy Spring Friends, Sr., M)

ick Siebenlist (Q. Orchard, Sr., F)

Mikey Worden (Blair, Sr., M)