Wednesday, July 25, 2007

Montgomery losing two WSSC members

E-mail this article \ Print this article

Montgomery County is set to replace two of its three members on the board that governs the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission.

Commissioners Sandra A. Allen and Stanley J. Botts will continue to serve on the board of the water and sewer utility, which serves more than 1.6 million customers in Prince George’s and Montgomery counties, until County Executive Isiah Leggett names and the County Council confirms replacements.

The deadline to apply for the positions — each of which carries a four-year term that expires in May 2011 — is Aug. 1.

One position is designated for a Democrat and one is for a member of a minority party — that is, a Republican, independent or member of a third party.

Botts continues as vice chairman until he is replaced, WSSC officials said.

But his resignation means Montgomery County will wait more than a year for one of its representatives to lead the board, whose chairmanship usually alternates between the two counties.

The terms of Botts, a Democrat, and Allen, a Republican, expired in May.

Both came to the commission two and half years ago to finish the terms of commissioners who resigned from a divided board that ousted John R. Griffin as general manager.

Botts of Silver Spring has been appointed commissioner of the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation’s occupational and professional licensing division. He started Wednesday.

Allen, an executive coach who built and sold her own scientific and technical services company in Silver Spring, said she decided not to seek a second term before Botts resigned. Allen said she is leaving as a courtesy to Leggett, whom she said she supports, to clear the way for him to make his own appointments.

Prince George’s Commissioner Prem Agarwal remains chairman until the six commissioners elect a replacement.

Montgomery Commissioner Marc P. Lieber of Rockville served a year as WSSC chairman from 2005-2006.

Those who already have applied to fill the two vacancies include Democrats Joseph T. Carrigan of Silver Spring, a retired WSSC financial manager; Nuclear Regulatory Commission engineer N.B. (Tommy) Le of Silver Spring; Denise H. Lloyd of Silver Spring, founder of commercial insurance brokerage DH Lloyd & Associates and chairman of the National Minority Business Coalition; and Gerald A. Price, a retired WSSC financial administrator who is an engineer with a master’s degree in business administration.

Applicants who are not Democrats include Republican Gilles W. Burger of Darnestown, former chairman of the State Board of Elections and an executive at software development company SI International; independent James B. McDaniel of Potomac, a consultant and lawyer who retired in 1992 from what was the District of Columbia’s Water and Sewer Utility Administration; and independent Fred Silverman of Bethesda.

Norman E. Pruitt of Ashton has also applied but his political affiliation could not be determined at press time.

To apply

Send a letter of interest and resume including political party affiliation, home and work telephone numbers and e-mail addresses.

Applicants must be registered voters living in the county. They also must complete a state financial disclosure statement and an interview by a county attorney to determine any conflict of interest.

Address applications to County Executive Isiah Leggett, Executive Office Building, 101 Monroe St., Rockville, MD 20850 or via e-mail to

The deadline is Aug. 1