Wednesday, June 6, 2007

All-Gazette tennis: Boys

E-mail this article \ Print this article

Brian Lewis⁄The Gazette
The 2007 All-Gazette Boys Tennis first team, left to right. Sitting: Andrew Zutz, Doug Silverstein; kneeling: Dan Stahl, Chris Seckman, Brian Lee, Alvin Fludd; standing: Pablo Gottret, Coach of the Year Jasen Gohn, Player of the Year Jared Pinsky, Timmy Klanke and Pat Coan. Not pictured: Will Beck and Chris Goodwin.
Coach of Year

Jasen Gohn, Whitman, 4th year; A solid tennis player himself, used his own knowledge and experience to lead Vikings to second Division I title in three years and to the first county tournament title won by any team other than Wootton or Churchill in 20 years.

Player of the Year

Jared Pinsky, Churchill, senior; Duke-bound left-handed player rode his devastating forehand, much-improved serve and sheer will to a 17-1 record, regional tournament title and third Maryland state public-school title in four years.

First team

*Will Beck, Bullis, Sr.; University of Kentucky signee went 28-2 to lead Bulldogs to third straight unbeaten season, Interstate Athletic Conference and Ben Johns Tournament titles, and third place at nationals.

*Chris Goodwin, Rockville, Jr.; Gritty right-hander used speed, versatility to finish season 10-2, losing only to state champion Pinsky and state finalist Stahl.

*Timmy Klanke, Whitman, Soph.; Bigger, stronger than he was last year, remains one of county’s most consistent. Went 11-0 with second straight county No. 2 singles tourney title.

*Chris Seckman, Bullis, Jr.; Took over No. 2 singles slot early in year, compiling 24-3 record, including No. 2 singles title at Ben Johns Tournament, helping Bulldogs win Eastern Regionals and New England mid-Atlantics.

*Dan Stahl, Whitman, Sr.; Backed by increased maturity, relentless ground game, went 12-1 en route to first county tournament No. 1 singles title and state runner-up finish. Became first county player to beat Pinsky in three years.

*Brian Lee (Sr.)⁄Alvin Fludd (Soph.), Bullis; The definition of good doubles team, used communication and court prowess to compile 14-1 season record.

*Doug Silverstein (Sr.)⁄Andrew Zutz (Sr.), Bullis; Untouchable duo bullied opponents throughout 10-0 season, winning No. 2 doubles title at Ben Johns Tournament.

*Pat Coan (Jr.)⁄Pablo Gottret (Fr.), Whitman; Scrappy pair was big part of Whitman’s dominance. Finished season with unblemished 12-0 record, including No. 1 doubles county title.

Honorable mention

*Casey Fashouer, Bullis, Sr.

*Jordan Keen, Sherwood, Sr.

*Matt Lichtenstein, Northwest, Jr.

*Andrew Marcus, Churchill, Sr.

*Roshan Potorazu, Wootton, Sr.

*Felix Sun, Churchill, Soph.

*DukyoungPark, (Fr.)

*Charles Kong (Soph.), Blair

*Aaron Hoffman (Fr.)

*Victor Osnos (Soph.), Whitman

*Billy Maloney (Jr.)

*Remy Mooney (Jr.), G-town Prep