Wednesday, April 25, 2007

Biotech organization honors Van Hollen

E-mail this article \ Print this article

Rep. Christopher Van Hollen Jr. (D-Dist. 8) of Kensington was named Legislator of the Year for 2006-07 by the Biotechnology Industry Organization.

According to BIO president and CEO Jim Greenwood, Van Hollen has promoted biotechnology research and development as a co-sponsor of the Stem Cell Research and Enhancement Act and the Pandemic Preparedness and Response Act.

BIO represents more than 1,100 biotechnology companies, academic institutions, state biotechnology centers and organizations, according to a news release from the organization.

Courts at Woodsidesales to begin

GTM Architects, a Bethesda architecture, planning and interior design firm, and the Kentlands Co. of Cabin John, a homebuilder and land developer, have unveiled plans for the Courts of Woodside residential development in Silver Spring.

The 2.7-acre project has been designed to renovate three existing historic single-family homes while integrating 23 new townhomes, according to information from the companies. Ground is to be broken this month, and the sales office will open next month.

Promotions and hires

Choice Hotels International of Silver Spring promoted Caroline Racine to director, Caribbean franchise development. Previously, Racine, who joined Choice nine years ago, worked in worldwide sales and intermediary marketing.

Venable LLP of Rockville named Derick P. Berlage, 50, former chairman of the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, a partner in its state and local government practice group. Previously, Berlage, a former member of the Montgomery County Council, was a litigator at Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison.

Silver Spring chamber hosts events through June

A business after hours sponsored by the Greater Silver Spring Chamber of Commerce will be held 5:30 p.m. to 7 p.m. today at American Bank, 8630 Georgia Ave., Silver Spring. Call 301-565-3777.

The Silver Spring chamber’s next monthly networking breakfast will be held 7:30 a.m. to 9:15 a.m. May 9 at Tastee Diner, 8601 Cameron St., Silver Spring. Call 301-565-3777 to register by May 7.

The Silver Spring chamber’s annual Golf Classic will be held May 17 at Hampshire Greens Golf Course, 616 Firestone Drive, Silver Spring. Call 301-565-3777 for registration details by May 10.

The Silver Spring chamber’s networking breakfast for the month of June will be held 7:30 a.m. to 9:15 a.m. June 13 at Taste of Morocco, inside City Place Mall at 8661 Colesville Road, Silver Spring. Call 301-565-3777 to register by June 11.

‘Champions for Children’ gala honors educators

Several Montgomery County public schools teachers and administrators will be honored Thursday at the ‘‘Champions for Children” awards gala at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel and Conference Center. The gala, sponsored by the Montgomery County Business Roundtable for Education, honors educators, business people and volunteers.

Honorees include the three finalists for county teacher of the year: Phillip D’Agnese, Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary; Noreen Gale, Oakland Terrace Elementary; and Raul Ortiz, Damascus High School. The Greenblatt Rookie Teacher of the Year is Olga Shapiro of Rockville High School.

Carole Goodman, the principal of James Hubert Blake High School, won the Dr. Edward Shirley Award for administrators.

Herenia Lopez, an ESOL paraeducator at Eastern Middle School, is the Supporting Services Employee of the Year.

Thomas W. Pyle Middle School PTA earned the Volunteer Champion for Children award.

Alison Malmon of Active Minds Inc., a 1999 graduate of Winston Churchill High School, is the winner of the MCPS Distinguished Alumni Award.

Nelson McLeod, principal of Newport Mill Middle School, is being honored with the Washington Post Distinguished Educational Leadership Award.

Suburban Hospital was honored with the Business Champion for Children award.

Items appropriate for Business Notes may be mailed to The Gazette, 13501 Virginia Manor Road, Laurel, MD 20707. They may also be sent by fax to 240-473-7501 or by e-mail to