Thursday, Feb. 7, 2008

Berkshire Elementary gives out second-quarter awards

E-mail this article \ Print this article

Berkshire Elementary in Forestville recently released its second-quarter awards, including recognition for honor rolls, most improved, perfect attendance and citizenship.

Students who earned the Principal’s Honor Roll (all A’s) are: Second grade — Jovon Walston, A’yahna Hartridge, CynClara Hilliard, Erian Holley, Tatianna Proctor, Anyah Pindell, Mi’Kela Vincent, Breyuan Robinson, Tyra Cornish, Dominique Grant, Tamoni Turner, Manay Hendrick, Asia Hurst, Sharena Lawson and Adeola Sulaiman; Fourth grade — Lexis Pickett and Rayauna Benthall; Sixth grade — Demetrius Logan, Lache Vincent and Raiya Hooks.

Students who made the Honor Roll (A’s and B’s) are: Head Start — Levaun McKenzie, Stephan Smith, Tyriq Coleman, Era Cox, Erica Aiken and Jada Thomas; Pre-kindergarten — Camirra Bennett-Jackson, Christeona Dolford, Yonata Eyob, Kennedi Fells and Kyjuan Henry; First grade — Kaziah White, Tervon Davis, Precious Davis, Michiah Graves, Jesse Hooks, La Monte’ Greene, John Holt, Nahbrion Joseph, James Massey, Diamond Moore-Davis, D’Andra Poole, Malcolm Rogers, Jordan Taylor and Treybourne Walker Jr.; Second grade — MaCario Black and Diamond Carter; Third grade — Kyra Burrell, Deja Davis, Eryk Young, London Massey, Nahtifa Joseph and Nia Copelin; Fourth grade — James Brandon, Claretha Mason, Deja Offer, Christopher Proctor, Iair Wallce, Aichatou Zanguina, Daquan Coleman, Ronjae Mallory, Brianna Proctor, Breonna Walston, Darion Butler and Brandon Langley; Sixth grade — Juanita Starks, Damonte Perkins, Briyanee Green, Daeja Bennett, Darsheka Epps, Alexis Todd, Patrice Goodall, Dejuanique Taylor, Vinika Clark and Sharon Okosagah.

Students who were named Most Improved are: Head Start — Fatima Seck, Tyrell Coleman, Je’Mar Purdie, Katherine Walker and Jacory Wilkes-Blackeney; Pre-kindergarten — Breanna Appling, Isaiah Boyd, Carlson Mackall, Christian Murphy, Trenyti Skelton and Tayshawn Suite-Williams; Kindergarten — Aarion Swinson, Daitione Payne, Nakia Amerson, Julius Baldwin, Dalante Bedney, Robyn Clarke, Daisyonna Davis-Moore, Xavion Day, Darryl Fitzgerald, Jeffery Herron, Ashyia Hughes, Keyon Jorand, Ra’Kya Lorick, Keonte Pickett, Aaja Robinson and Amaya Walker; First grade — Jamiela Logan, Syparia Harris, Da’ Von Harris, Kervon Foote and Malik Rufai; Second grade — Richard Price, Ablante Eyob, Floyd Davis; Third grade — Kevin Morris, Kaybria Barnett, Corey McPherson, Nyell Scott and Gregory Brooks; Fourth-grade — Lonnie Hurst, Deja Offer, Chance McPhearson and Brianna Proctor; Fifth grade — Tyshea Samuels, Tierra Johnson and Dajahnae Todd; Sixth grade — D’Angelo McEaddy-Holland and Deandre Ford.

Students who won the Citizenship Award are: Head Start — Paul Catlett, Timara Bullock, Quacy February, Ariel Johnson, Aniya Stephenson and Dayon Murray; Pre-kindergarten — Dasani Holt, India Howard, Jamia Jefferies, Adreya Lawson, Jamar Moffitt, Michael Wells; Kindergarten—Aliyah Clark, DaJaney McCane, Dana Barnett, Gabriel Awuize, Kwane Booker, Kymbria White, Mya Vincent, Na Tayla Fletcher, Olamilekan Sulaiman; Second grade — Aaron Swinson, Zaimond Thomas and Kierra James; Third grade — London Massey, Brittany Proctor-Fells, Kaybria Barnett, Bria Lawson and Jasmine Washington; Fourth grade — Tayjonah Stinnie, Alexis Manresa, Julian Warren and David Tucker; Fifth grade — Curtis Faucette, Haywood Cofield, Tamia Turner, Nyache Jenkins, Diamond Scott, Daijah Holloway, Dominic Todd, Tierra Johnson, Tayona Butler, Jazmine Booker, Tyshea Samuels, Tyquan Squire, Bryan Polk, Travis Harris, Dominique Berkley, Dajahnae Todd, Marcel Jackson, Sierra Johnson, Latonya Robinson, Jovon Gholston, Tyreuk Rush, Zachary Richardon and Jourdan Lomax; Sixth grade — Demetrius Logan, Lache Vincent, Raiya Hooks, D’Angelo McEaddy-Holland and Karizmah Smith.

Students who had Perfect Attendance are: Head Start—Ja’Mina Ferrell, Nahajah George and Tyler Simmons; Pre-kindergarten — Kennedi Fells and Diallo Fitzgerald; Kindergarten — Aarion Swinson, Christian Middleton, Daitione Payne, Jordan Okosagah, Kwane Booker, Olamilekan Sulaiman and Stephanie Samuels; Second grade — Jovon Walston, Marquette Washington, Breyuan Robinson, Aaron Swinson, Kiarra Scott, Jaysean Bumpers, Adeola Sulaiman and Nakita Willaims; Third grade — Deja Davis, Eryk Young, Kevin Morris and Brittany Proctor-Fells; Fourth grade — Demani Brown, Lonnie Hurst, Breonna Walston and Daquan Coleman; Fifth grade — Dominic Todd, Tayona Butler, Diamond Scott, Tierra Johnson, Jazmine Booker, Dominique Berkley, Dajahnae Todd, Terrel Samuels and Marcel Jackson; Sixth grade — William Adams II, Sharon Okosagah, Daeja Bennett, DaMonte Perkins, Robert Smith, Alexis Todd, Dejuanique Taylor, D’Angelo McEaddy-Holland and Demetrius Logan.

Douglass High alumnapromoted to staff sergeant

Candace R. Farrington, a 2002 graduate from Frederick Douglass High School, has been promoted to the rank of staff sergeant in the U.S. Air Force.

She is assigned to the 79th Medical Support Squadron at Andrews Air Force Base.

Farrington, a diet therapy specialist, has been in the military for four years. She is the daughter of Andre B. and Lorna A. Farrington of Eyre Drive in Upper Marlboro.

County women inducted into honor society

Jill Sallis of Upper Marlboro and Christina M. Edwards of Clinton were recently among 92 inductees into the Delta Epsilon Sigma National Scholastic Honor Society at Marymount University.

To be eligible, undergraduates must have at least a 3.5 grade point average and graduate students must have at least a 3.75 grade point average through 75 percent of their program. Other considerations include character, intellect and leadership skills.

Edwards is pursuing a bachelor’s of business administration degree in business management. Sallis is pursuing a master’s degree in health care management.

McNamara student torepresent Camp Fire USA

Anastasia Marie Wroblewski, a senior at Bishop McNamara High School, has been appointed to the Camp Fire USA National Youth Advisory Cabinet. Cabinet members advise the national staff and board of trustees on youth-related issues. They also act as a liaison for all youth involved with Camp Fire USA and organize major events for the organization.

‘‘Anastasia is committed to Camp Fire USA and its mission,” board President Maryruth Sherren said in a statement. ‘‘This selection is well deserved. We will benefit from her participation.”

Wroblewski has been involved in Camp Fire USA for more than 14 years and has won numerous awards with the organization.

Wroblewski is the daughter of Rosemary Pezzuto and Henry Wroblewski of Bowie.