Thursday, Feb. 7, 2008

Scotchtown students recognized for achievements

E-mail this article \ Print this article

Three students at Scotchtown Hills Elementary School in Laurel read more than their fair share of books this fall, and in January they were awarded certificates of achievement. As part of their prize, they received tickets to a Medieval Times Dinner and Tournament at Arundel Mills mall this spring.

Third-grader Deja Washington and sixth-graders Damon Watson-Willis and Mariah Perkins are the three winners. The school’s reading specialist, Kim Blouvet, said the once-a-year program runs Oct. 15 to Dec. 14. To win the prize, kindergartners through third graders had to read at least 20 books outside of assigned reading, fourth- and fifth-graders have to read at least 10 books and sixth-graders have to read at least five books.

‘‘For our homework, we have to read 20 minutes a day. These kids went above that,” Blouvet said. ‘‘When they read this many books, they just expose themselves to so much.”

The school has also announced award-winners for the second quarter of the 2007-2008 school year. Teachers nominated one student in each of their classes who, based on their performance and behavior, stood out as the most improved for the quarter.

Students winning the Most Improved Award for the second quarter are Safinat Adekola; Jenae Alexander; Clanesha Bryant; Bryan Chavarria; Tae’von Dunn; Kyeon Ford; Keona Herrera-Rojas; Alysia Hicks; Lee Hill III; Delante Howard, Jr.; Kailar Johnson; Simone Johnson; Shyanne Johnson-Aston; Kayla Lester; T.J. Love; Hannah Lumi; Diamond Mayo; John Mitchell; Kyia Modeste; Edgar Navarrete; Delmy Pineda; Timothy Seay; Oluwateniay Sopitan; and Walter Vasquez.

Scotchtown Hill students on the second quarter honor roll are Bobbi Amar-Atsen; Patience Amponsah; Monique Anderson; Akosua Ansah-Brew; Fabiana Antezana; Quinn Baylor; Keyonna Biggs; William Bowman IV; Alexandre Bridon; Jahaana Chappelle; Bianca Chicas; Corey Clemons; Michelle Craft; Brianna Dakin-Davis; Abdul Diamant; Cindy Diaz; Oluwafunmila Eletu; Whitney Fowlkes; Shaira Mae Francisco; Marlee Garraway; Christopher Giglio; Alexis Golden; Ahmed Guerra; Nadia Hayes; Grace Houchens; Nahl Ilyas; Jaelin Johnson; Ernest Jones; Abdullatu Kamara; Danesha Kennedy; Nicholas Lamberth; Abril Lopez; Elizabeth Luseni; Bridgette Manful; Axel Mayega Ma Banim; Sabrina Myers; Nidhi Naik; Rahson Nugent; Kate Nwankwoala; Prince Nwank Woala; London Oakley; Bilikisu Okoosi; Goodwin Olletey; Elena Ortega; Michael Oye-Adeniran; Alia Parker; Kherns Pierre-Louis; Alaisjah Powell; Karina Rivas; Antione Ross; Antone’ Ross; Rasheed Sanders; Janae Seegers; Linnea Smith; Jade Stratford; Christopher Syphax; Jillian Thornton; Daidra Watson; Damon Watson-Willis, Jr.; Nya Wheeler; Semaje Wicker; Imraan Wise; and Henrietta Yeboah.

A Woman’s Journey Group

The two-month-old drop-in group, A Woman’s Journey Group, meets every month for 90-minute discussions on prearranged topics at the North Laurel-Savage Multiservice Center in the Whiskey Bottom Shopping Center. The talks are open to all women.

‘‘It’s a resource for [women’s] lives and allows them to grow,” said Vidia Dhanraj, outreach coordinator for the Multiservice Center. ‘‘Our goal is to try to give our local women an opportunity to connect.”

Dhanraj said the group hoped to reach those women who do not work outside the home and may feel ‘‘landlocked inside their homes.”

January’s discussion topic was ‘‘Eating Nutritiously and Shopping for Healthy Foods on a Budget.” Next month’s will be ‘‘Dressing for Success and Your Body Type.” The meeting will be held Feb. 28, and refreshments and childcare will be available. For more information, call the Multiservice Center at 301-498-750.

Laurel nativemakes Dean’s List

One of Laurel’s own was named to Frostburg State University’s Dean’s List.

The university recognized Kyle Jobi’s academic achievements during the fall 2007 semester. In order to make the Dean’s List, a student must complete a minimum of 12 credit hours, and earn a cumulative semester grade point average of at least 3.4 on a 4.0 scale.

Breakfast to benefitschool programs

The Montpelier Elementary School Parent Teacher Association is hosting its second annual Sweetheart’s Breakfast from 8 to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

The breakfast will be held in the Applebee’s at the intersection of Route 1 and Contee Road in Laurel. A plate for the pancake and sausage buffet costs $6, with proceeds benefiting upcoming enrichment programs and a PTA-sponsored teacher appreciation week at Montpelier Elementary.

Howard County summer camp registration changes

Thinking about sending the kids to summer camp in Howard County this year? The Department of Recreation and Parks last week announced improvements to its online camp registration system. The changes took effect Wednesday. Online Registration for camp now begins at 6 p.m. instead of midnight. In-person, phone and e-mail registrations start at 8 a.m. Friday.

The online registration system has also undergone an upgrade to accommodate the growing number of online registrations.

‘‘We think these improvements will make it easier for families to register and get the summer camps and activities they want for their children,” said Gary Arthur, director of the department, in a statement.

Summer Camp guides are available online at⁄RAP. For more information, call 410-313-4700.