Thursday, Jan. 31, 2008

Heat second in Orlando

E-mail this article \ Print this article

The Howard County Heat, an amateur hockey team primarily made up of policemen and firemen Western Howard County recently finished second in the Annual Orlando Police and Firefighters Tournament.

The Heat finished 2-1 in Division play before falling in the finals.

The tournament benefited the Muscular Dystrophy Association. Team members include:

Michael Baker ,Rob Roy Baker, Daniel Besseck, Jason DiCerbo, Aaron Dombrowsky, David Dubrovich, Joseph Gibbons, James Haberkorn, John Hettchen, Kenneth Hubbard, James Joyce, Bradley Kulkas, Mike Kwarciani, James Laffin ,Jeffrey Loomis, Ryan McCrone, Matthew Mergenthaler, David Metzler, Christopher Meyer, Christopher Shannon, James Smiley, Christopher Thompson, Raymond Trodden, Thomas Trodden, Gordon Wallace and Scott Wilcox.

The Heat will host an Annual Benefit Game on April 26, 2008 at the Columbia Ice Rink.

The game will be in honor of Cpl. Scott Wheeler of the Howard County Police Department who was killed in the line of duty on June 18, 2007.