Thursday, Jan. 31, 2008

Students shine in Bowie’s ‘Visions of a Dream’ contest

E-mail this article \ Print this article

The city of Bowie sponsored a contest for students in kindergarten through 12th-grade to enter artwork related to the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

More than 700 students entered the contest in three categories – kindergarten through second-grade, third- through fifth-grade and sixth- through 12th-grade. Students in each contest can win a first-place prize of $100, second-place prize of $50 or third-place prize of $25.

The winners will be announced in February.

The city hosted a program Jan. 22 to showcase the students’ work and honor King’s life and work.

The finalists in the contest in the kindergarten through second-grade category are: R.J. Chandler (Cornerstone Christian Academy), Jessica McBride (Cornerstone Christian Academy), Andrea Umana (Heather Hills Elementary), Dilcia Padilla (High Bridge Elementary), Kayla Starkey (High Bridge Elementary), Chike Okenwa Jr. (Northview Elementary) Lauren Baker (St. Pius X Regional School), Timothy Hrabinski (St. Pius X Regional School), Brett Rafferty (St. Pius X Regional School), Abigail Potter (St. Pius X Regional School), Santiago David (Pointer Ridge Elementary), Caunard Lee (Pointer Ridge Elementary), Quentin Parker (Pointer Ridge Elementary) Ankita Gola (Rockledge Elementary) Kanoot Gondal (Rockledge Elementary) Alexis Molina (Tulip Grove Elementary) and Maciyah Washington (Tulip Grove Elementary).

The finalists in the third- through fifth-grade category are: Adia Chaney (Rockledge Elementary) Valeria Falcon Machi (Heather Hills Elementary), Monica Fuller (Heather Hills Elementary), Tyler Hamilton (St. Pius X Regional School), Mariessa McKenna (St. Pius X Regional School), Ahreema Qureshi (Rockledge Elementary), Breauna Rundle (Rockledge Elementary), Kristen Smith (Pointer Ridge Elementary), Rian Smith (Heather Hills Elementary), Brooke Sullivan (Pointer Ridge Elementary), Emily Tann (Yorktown Elementary) and Angela Wroblewski (St. Pius X Regional School).

Finalists in the sixth- through 12th-grade category include Bowie High School students: Helen Amelga, Monica Coleman, Michelle Decker, Shelby Donnelly, Jackie Hanson, Eric Heidenreich, Avery Jones, Kristin Long, Skylar McBarnett, Mariah Oates, Adeola Olanyan, Kiah Puth, Diosi Romeo Smith, Jessica Singleton and Brandon Tipton. Home school student Joanna Towles is a finalist.

Café Groove celebrates first anniversary

The traveling teen coffeehouse Café Groove will hold its first anniversary celebration Friday at the Newton White Mansion in Mitchellville. Keeping with Café Groove tradition, an open mic and visual arts contest with cash prizes will be held as part of the evening activities.

‘‘We were looking for alternative activity for teens on the weekend and came up with idea for coffeehouse that moves around in the county and featured different artists,” said Stewart Seal, the event organizer for Maryland National Capital Park and Planning. ‘‘It gives the kids a chance to express themselves and they can express themselves in a safe environment.”

The evening will begin at 8 p.m. with Lyrikal Storm, the largest youth poetry group in the Washington Metro Area, and will conclude at 11 p.m. with the Soul in Motion Players, African Drummers.

Throughout Cafe Grooves’ first year, Seal said the program has developed a significant following with 50 to 80 people attending events. Tickets for the event at $3. The Newton White Mansion is located at 2708 Enterprise Road.

Bowie students graduate from Salisbury University

Four Bowie residents graduated from Salisbury University this winter, and received degrees at the school’s winter commencement. The students who earned bachelor’s degrees include Shawn Orme (communication and theatre arts), Kelly Reiter (early childhood education), William Smith (exercise science) and Anton Washington (English).

Rockledge students excel in second quarter

The following Rockledge Elementary School students in third grade were named to the school’s Principal’s Honor Roll, earning grades of all ‘‘A’s”: Trent Ashton, Connor Devlin, Colton Dick, Diego Principe, Maeve Baker, SJ Oyebade, Anna Voigt, Kristen Neff and Seth Thomas.

Third-graders named to the Honor Roll with all ‘‘A’s” and ‘‘B’s” are Adanna Aguta, Adia Chaney, Danny Delgado, Cameron Evans, Bryan Polio-Rios, Daesja Barnes, Jaden Burnett, Justin Canady, Winston Davis, Keziah Dickerson, Nikolas Jarrett, Jonah Kalu, Taylor Lee, Nasia Williams, Noah Zeigler, Victor Agbar, Bradley Agyei, Omair Ahmed, Wenzi Bobowiec, Kamiah Dickerson, Jonathan Hayden, India Jones, Connell Oshodi. Raj Patel and Roneil Sabas.

The fourth-graders named to the Principal’s Honor Roll are Sadia Alao, Jacob Farmer, Sara Sienna Sanders, Chloe Thompson, Alexandra DeGrouchy, Rosetta Irons and Bailey Woodruff.

Fourth-graders named to the Honor Roll are

Abdul Barry, Aliyah Blow, Jessica Cook, Eryka Edmund, Augusta Fraser, Cam’ron Harris, Kaelyn Helm, Hindolo Sheku, Elan Simpkins, Rashida Walker, Kayla Williams, Alexis Willis, Albert Conteh, Camille Jones, Kiri Aist, Hylton Irons, Darius Lashley, Paola Mejia, Bryce Rakshys, Jasmine Riggins, Stephen Robinson, Miles Scott, Kirkpal Wellington, Rosemary Ajegwu, Travien Anderson, Tyler Chambers, Ian Delk, Phillip Harding, Alexandra Lorditch, Tony Pham, Ahreema Qureshi and Nicolas Robinson.

Fifth-grade students named to the Principal’s Honor Roll are

Jordan Cirisler, Hannah Demetry, Peter Kalu, Matthew Kegley, Marcela Sanidad, Pendo Abbo, Taylor Bendlin, Manikya Pala, Elizabeth Voigt, Molly Dick, Tiffany Ngo and Samantha Stevens.

Fifth-graders named to the Honor Roll are:

Allyssa Jarrett, Ashley Kegley, Sean Thomas, Micah Alexander, Quran Barnes, Adara Brown, Alonzo Carter, Lisa Chen, Karen Kramer, Alexandra Monroe, Patrick Cable, Reginald Connally, Taylor Davis, Dierra Dupree, Darius Lashley, Jean-Christophe Gordan, Leslie Jones-Dove, Jazzmine Brynat, Camron Dendy, Satia Harper, Onix Lima, Carl Love and Jonathan Vasquez.

Black History Month walk scheduled for Feb. 16

The Freestate Happy Wanderers will host a 5 km and 11 km walk in honor of Black History Month. The trail will go through the campus of Bowie State University. Walkers can begin between 9 a.m. and noon and will finish by 3 p.m. on Feb. 16. Call 301-572-5574 or visit⁄clubs⁄freestate.

Bowie State plans reception on higher education

Alumni, faculty, staff and students of Bowie State University are invited to a reception in Annapolis being held to increase awareness about high education. University President Mickey L. Burnim is expected to attend the Feb. 20 event.

‘‘It’s really a gathering designed to put supporters of the university together with legislators” as a good faith measure, Burnim said.

Attendees may RVSP online at⁄annapolis2008 by Feb. 15. The reception will be held in the Miller Senate Office Building, Conference Center West located at 11 Bladen St.