On Nov. 8, Bowie residents will elect the office of mayor and six council seats.

In District 2, Councilwoman Diane Polangin is running for a third term against Piero "Pete" Mellits, who ran against her in 2009.

In District 3, Henri Gardner, currently an at-large councilman, is running for the seat. He is being challenged by Babatunde Alegbeleye.

In District 4, Councilman Isaac Trouth is running for a third term against Carl Brown.

There are three candidates for the two at-large council seats: longtime incumbent Dennis Brady; Todd Turner, currently the District 3 councilman; and challenger James Bell.

Mayor G. Frederick Robinson has no challengers for his at-large seat, and District 1 Councilman James Marcos also is running uncontested.

Members serve two-year terms, and there are no term limits.

Election information

What: Bowie City Council elections for the office of mayor and six council seats

When: 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 8

Where: Bowie City Hall, 15901 Excalibur Road

Absentee ballots: Must be received by close of polls at 8 p.m. Nov. 8. Deadline to apply for an absentee ballot is 5 p.m. Nov. 7. More information and downloadable absentee ballot application

From the Gazette