Prince George’s County Public Schools recognized 17 teachers for obtaining their National Board Certified Teacher status for the first time, and one teacher for renewing their status during a pinning ceremony held Jan. 30.

National Board Certification is an advanced teaching credential, and is awarded through a peer-review process to teachers who demonstrate a strong command of content, the ability to design appropriate learning experiences, the use of assessments to inform instructional decision-making, and form strong partnerships with fellow teachers, parents and the community, according to the National Board Certification website.

Teachers honored and their schools are as follows:

Valerie Anderson, Avalon Elementary (Fort Washington); James Dorsey IV, Vansville Elementary (Beltsville); Sharon Hindman, Paint Branch Elementary (College Park); Kevin Kendrick, William Wirt Middle (Riverdale); Roan Louie, Bradbury Heights Elementary (Capitol Heights); Mackenzie Pettrey, High Bridge Elementary (Bowie); Edward Crowley, James Ryder Randall Elementary (Clinton); Bernadette Garcia, H. Winship Wheatley Early Childhood Center (Kent); Annetta Jackson, Kettering Elementary; Donna Lauerhahs, H. Winship Wheatley Early Childhood Center; Josephine Michael, Eleanor Roosevelt High (Greenbelt); Geraldine Joan Rosos, Cooper Lane Elementary (Landover Hills); Ivy De Los Reyes, James Ryder Randall Elementary; Lisa Hawkins, Deerfield Run Elementary (Laurel); Clementine Kameni Mballa, Hyattsville Middle; Christina Lembo, Kingsford Elementary (Mitchellville) and Camilla Pea, Charles H. Flowers High (Springdale).