Incumbent wins sheriff; judge candidates move on -- Gazette.Net







Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Leave a Comment
Print this Article



Darren M. Popkin 38,693

Tom Falcinelli Jr. 21,205

Circuit Court Clerk


Barbara H. Meiklejohn 36,486

Alan Bowser 23,676

Circuit Court Judge (top 4 on both Ballots advance)

Democratic ballot:

Joan E. Ryon 47,570

Audrey A. Creighton 44,183

Gary E. Bair 39,385

Nelson W. Rupp Jr. 39,078

Daniel P. Connell 31,000

Republican ballot:

Daniel P. Connell 8,700

Nelson W. Rupp Jr. 7,987

Joan E. Ryon 7,642

Gary E. Bair 7,636

Audrey A. Creighton 7,105

All precincts reporting; results are unofficial

This story was corrected at 10:30 a.m. on June 26, 2014. An explanation follows the story.

An incumbent and an heir apparent held off their challengers in Montgomery County’s Democratic primary races for sheriff and court clerk Tuesday.

A challenger in the circuit court judge race, however, will continue with four incumbents to the November election.

Deputy Clerk Barbara H. Meiklejohn won the Democratic nomination for clerk of the circuit court with 60.7 percent of the vote, defeating Alan Bowser. Meiklejohn will face no Republican opposition and succeed her boss, Loretta Knight, who declined to seek re-election.

Sheriff Darren M. Popkin is headed for a second term, beating Tom Falcinelli Jr. with 64.6 percent of the vote. Popkin, who defeated Falcinelli in the 2010 Democratic primary, has no Republican opponent in the November election.

In the nonpartisan race for circuit court judge, challenger Daniel P. Connell and incumbents Joan E. Ryon, Audrey A. Creighton, Nelson W. Rupp Jr. and Gary E. Bair are all moving on to the general election.

Democratic and Republican voters created two different groups of top vote recipients in this race on their respective ballots. The candidates who made the top four on either ballot will continue to the general election, which means all five judge candidates made it through the primary, according to Marjorie Roher, a spokeswoman for the Montgomery County Board of Elections.

Unopposed primary winners include incumbent Register of Wills Joseph M. Griffin (D), who will face no general election challenger, and state’s attorney candidates Dan Gaskill (R) and incumbent John McCarthy (D), who will face each other this fall.

Editor’s note: A previous version of this story incorrectly stated that Circuit Court judge candidate Daniel P. Connell was eliminated in the primary. Connell was one of four candidates who received the most votes on the Republican ballot and will therefore continue to the general election.