Incumbents advance in District 15 House race -- Gazette.Net







Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Leave a Comment
Print this Article

Maryland House District 15

Democrats (top 3 advance):

Kathleen Dumais 5,815

Aruna Miller 5,437

David Fraser-Hidalgo 4,217

Bennett Rushkoff 3,539

ALL precincts reporting; results are unofficial

This story was updated at 1 p.m. June 25, 2014, and corrected June 25, 2014. An explanation follows the story.

Dels. Kathleen Dumais of Rockville, David Fraser-Hidalgo of Boyds and Aruna Miller of Darnestown all fended off their sole challenger in Tuesday’s Democratic primary in District 15 and advance to the Nov. 4 general election.

Fraser-Hidalgo claimed the third slot, edging Bennett Rushkoff of Gaithersburg by 678 votes.

“I’m leading, but it’s not final until it is final,” Fraser-Hidalgo had said Tuesday evenng, before final results were tallied. “With that said, I feel good about the campaign we ran and feel good about everything.”

While waiting for results to come in, Rushkoff said Tuesday night that he didn’t yet know whether his role in the general election would be that of candidate or supporter.

“But I look forward to working with my fellow Democrats towards victory in November,” he said.

Fraser-Hidalgo was appointed to serve the remainder of former Del. Brian J. Feldman’s term. Feldman vacated the seat when he was appointed to the district’s Senate seat after Democrat Robert Garagiola resigned in September.

Dumais first won her seat in 2002 and has held it since then. Miller was elected to the House in 2010.

In the Republican House race, Ed Edmundson of Potomac, Flynn Ficker of Boyds and Christine Thron of Boyds ran unopposed and advance to the November election.

Feldman, of Potomac, and Republican Robin Ficker of Boyds ran unopposed in their respective Senate primaries in District 15..

District 15 covers much of western Montgomery County, from Clarksburg to North Potomac. The district starts in Bethesda, runs north just west of Rockville and follows the Potomac River on up to the Frederick County line.

Explanation: The original version misspelled David Fraser-Hidalgo’s last name in several references.