Montgomery County Council races to feature familiar names -- Gazette.Net


In June’s primary elections, Montgomery County voters will have familiar political names to choose from for County Council seats.

In District 5, Del. Tom Hucker (D-Dist. 20) of Silver Spring filed for the seat Tuesday and school board member Christopher Barclay filed for the seat Monday.

In District 1, former Councilwoman Duchy Trachtenberg (D) of Rockville will challenge Councilman Roger Berliner (D) of Bethesda.

District 3 features a showdown with three sitting elected officials in the Democratic primary: Gaithersburg Mayor Sidney Katz and Councilman Ryan Spiegel, and Rockville Councilman Tom Moore.

Tuesday was the filing deadline for candidates to be eligible for the June 24 primary election.

By 5:10 p.m. on Tuesday, 24 candidates had filed to run for seats on the council, according to the Maryland State Board of Elections website.

Meanwhile, Del. C. William Frick (D-Dist. 16) of Bethesda, who had announced a bid for attorney general, filed Tuesday instead for re-election.

Besides Hucker and Barclay, the District 5 race includes Evan Glass and Jeffrey Thames, who filed for the Democratic primary earlier. Terrill North filed Friday.

The seat came open with the resignation of former Councilwoman Valerie Ervin last month. Cherri Branson (D-Dist. 5) of Silver Spring was appointed to finish our her term as a caretaker, meaning she wouldn’t run for a full term.

Besides Berliner, six other council incumbents seek re-election: Council President Craig L. Rice (D-Dist. 2) of Germantown, Nancy Navarro (D-Dist. 4) of Silver Spring, Council Vice President George L. Leventhal (D-At Large) of Takoma Park, Marc Elrich (D-At Large) of Takoma Park, Nancy Floreen (D-At Large) of Garrett Park and Hans Riemer (D-At Large) of Takoma Park.

Councilman Philip M. Andrews (D-Dist. 3) of Gaithersburg is seeking the Democratic nomination for county executive.

Navarro faces no challenger in her race.

In District 2, Democrat Neda Bolourian and Republican Chris P. Fiotes Jr., both of Gaithersburg, and Republican Dick Jurgena of Germantown have filed to challenge Rice.

Democrats Beth Daly of Dickerson and Vivian Malloy of Olney and Republicans Robert Dyer of Bethesda and Shelly Skolnick of Silver Spring have filed as at-large candidates.

Green Party candidate Tim Willard of Kensington will run in the general election.

They will compete with Democrats Leventhal, Elrich, Floreen and Riemer for the four at-large seats, which are elected countywide.

Voters in the Republican and Democratic primary elections will be able to choose up to four at-large candidates from their party, said Christine Rzeszut, operations manager for the Montgomery County Board of Elections.

Primary winners move on to the Nov. 4 general election.

After eight years in the House, Hucker is looking to move to the Council Office Building in Rockville. Hucker initially planned to run again for delegate, but changed his mind.

Legislators file

As of 5 p.m. Tuesday, five of Montgomery County’s eight state senators had no primary challengers.

Sen. Richard S. Madaleno Jr. (D-Dist. 18) of Kensington will compete against Dana Beyer in the primary. Del. Luiz R.S. Simmons (D-Dist. 17) of Rockville and former Del. Cheryl Kagan are both seeking the seat held by the retiring Sen. Jennie Forehand (D-Dist. 17) of Rockville.

Del. Susan C. Lee (D-Dist. 16) of Bethesda is seeking the seat of Sen. Brian Frosh (D-Dist. 16) of Chevy Chase, who is running for attorney general. She faces challenges from J’aime Drayton of Potomac and Hugh Hill of Bethesda, who both filed Tuesday.

The House has crowded races in almost all eight Montgomery legislative districts — none more so than District 20, where 10 people are vying for three seats.

In District 14, the three Democratic incumbent delegates and two other Democrats will face off in the June primary. Three Republicans filed in the race.

In District 15, four Demcrats and two Republicans have filed. In District 16, eight Democrats seek three seats. One Republican has filed.

Nine Democrats have filed in District 17. District 17 has six Democrats and a Republican seeking three seats. In District 19, six Democrats have filed.

And in District 39, three Democrats and three Republicans are seeking three delegate seats.