College Park returns mayor, council incumbents -- Gazette.Net


College Park’s first contested mayoral election in nearly a quarter century ended Tuesday night with an overwhelming victory for incumbent Andrew Fellows.

Fellows, 54, first elected unopposed in 2009, received 1,127 votes while challenger Robert “Bob” McCeney, 48, received 278, according to preliminary election results released Tuesday night.

College Park’s last contested mayoral election was in 1989, when incumbent Anna Owens defeated challenger Craig Little.

The total does not include absentee ballots and validated provisional ballots, which were due to be counted after press time Wednesday.

According to the preliminary results, 1,531 out of the city’s 17,268 voters, approximately 8.9 percent, voted Tuesday.

Voters returned incumbents in both of College Park’s contested district races.

In District 1, incumbents S.M. Fazlul Kabir, 50, and Patrick Wojahn, 38, received 472 and 443 votes respectively while challenger Benjamin Mellman, 23, received 125 votes.

In District 3, incumbents Robert Day, 49, and Stephanie Stullich, 52, received 466 and 359 votes, respectively, defeating a challenge by Matthew Popkin, 22, who received 292 votes.

Voters can vote for two candidates per district.

Despite the wins for incumbents, there will be new faces on the council, as two council members, Robert Catlin (Dist. 2) and Marcus Afzali (Dist. 4) did not seek reelection.

P.J. Brennan, 32, a federal employee, will succeed Catlin, and Alan Hew, 45, a computer information technology contractor, will succeed Afzali.