Senate President Miller says he plans to be back -- Gazette.Net


Maryland Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr. (D-Dist. 27) of Chesapeake Beach said he expects a lot of turnover in his chamber in 2014, but he’s staying put, if re-elected.

Miller. 70 — who has served in the Senate since 1975 and as president since 1987 — told The Gazette Monday that he’ll run again in 2014.

He also shared his thoughts on some of the changes pending in the chamber, such as the retirement of Majority Leader Robert J. Garagiola (D-Dist. 15) of Germantown, which he called “a great loss to the Senate.”

Garagiola’s possible successor, Del. Brian J. Feldman (D-Dist. 15) of Potomac — if chosen by the county’s Democratic Central Committee — would be an able replacement, Miller said.

With the exception of Sen. Brian E. Frosh (D-Dist. 16) of Chevy Chase, who is planning a run for attorney general, Montgomery County’s Senate seats were pretty stable, Miller said.

But the president acknowledged that Sen. Jennie Forehand (D-Dist. 17) of Rockville, whom he supports, might see a challenge from Del. Luiz R.S. Simmons (D-Dist. 17), also of Rockville.

Simmons said he is “assessing a lot of things,” but declined to discuss his 2014 plans, saying that he would make an announcement in September.

The seat currently held by Sen. Barry Glassman (R-Dist. 35) of Churchville, who is running for Harford County executive, would be difficult for a Democrat to take, Miller said.

But the departure of Sen. Allan H. Kittleman (R-Dist. 9) of West Friendship, who is running for Howard County executive, offers a chance for Democrats to pick up another seat, Miller said.

Del. Gail H. Bates (R-Dist. 9A) of West Friendship confirmed Monday that she is planning to run for Kittleman’s seat, and will make an official announcement in July.

Miller expects another change in Baltimore County, where he thinks Sen. Norman Stone (D-Dist. 6) of Dundalk — who has served in the General Assembly for 50 years — likely will retire. Stone’s seat then would be open for his “preordained” replacement, Del. John A. Olszewski Jr. (D-Dist. 6) of Dundalk, Miller said.

“There’s a lot of excitement,” Miller said. “As long as it bodes well for the people of Maryland, I’m happy.”