Two Rockville students honored with NASA Credit Union scholarships -- Gazette.Net


Taylor Reeves of Rockville, a recent graduate of the Academy of the Holy Cross in Kensington, and Sophie Roytblat, also of Rockville, a graduate of Walter Johnson High School in Bethesda, received scholarships from the NASA Federal Credit Union Scholarship Program.

Reeves plans to attend St. John’s University in Annapolis, to obtain a degree in marketing and advertising.

Roytblat will attend New York University to major in global public health, as well as fulfill pre-med requirements.

The Mitchell-Beall-Rosen Memorial Scholarship, established in 1983, is named for former credit union members who volunteered their time to the organization. It is open to graduating high school seniors from within the Credit Union membership who will be pursuing four-year or two-year undergraduate degrees or vocational studies.

Scholarships in amounts of up to $7,000 may be awarded to assist with the costs of tuition, books and living expenses.

The scholarships are awarded based on evaluation of a written essay and a personal interview. The essay topic was “My Educational and Financial Goals For College and Beyond and the Role NASA Federal Credit Union Can Play”; entries were judged on content, writing style and creativity.