Nine Prince George’s students selected as national scholarship semifinalists -- Gazette.Net


Nine Prince George's County seniors have been selected as semifinalists in the 2013 National Achievement Scholarship competition.

The scholarship program is a privately financed academic competition administered by the National Merit Scholarship Corp. that each year recognizes academically promising African-American students from across the nation and awards college scholarships to hundreds of these students each year.

Semifinalists are chosen based on their performance on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test during their junior year.

To advance to the finalist level, semifinalists must submit a detailed scholarship application providing information about their academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities and educational goals, as well as submitting SAT scores confirming their PSAT standing.

Finalists will be eligible to compete for one of 700 one-time $2,500 National Achievement Scholarships, as well as scholarship awards from corporate and business sponsors.

Scholarship winners will be announced in early April.

Prince George's County semifinalists are: Kenechukwu P. Mbonu, Bowie High School; Ola A. Gerald, Grace Brethren Christian School in Clinton; Camille Chrysostom and Kinaya Y. Hardie, Bishop McNamara High School in Forestville; Modibo Abbo, Carmin A. Chappell, Tommie L. Day and Arin T. Squire-Wilson, Eleanor Roosevelt High School in Greenbelt; and Jacori R. Hayes, DeMatha Catholic High School in Hyattsville.