Tennis, cross country notebook, Oct. 3 -- Gazette.Net


Richard Montgomery girls tennis coach John Fahrner has joked that he can’t wait to shake the hand of the girl who beat his No. 1 singles player, Thea Postolache, because of how hard and how well Postolache has played this season.

Like or not, Fahrner received the opportunity last Monday as Sherwood sophomore Kaitlyn Heo defeated Postolache, 6-3, 7-5, to continue a strong 2012 campaign for Heo, who reached the regional semifinals a year ago. She also has won against players from Walt Whitman and Thomas S. Wootton this season.

Heo took the first set in her opening match of the season against Northwest’s Lydia Xiao, a first team All-Gazette selection last fall, before having to forfeit after becoming ill on the court.

Northwest boys and girls win

Led by Naomi Sheppard (3rd place, 20 minutes, 32.12 seconds), Amalie El Fallah (4th, 21:24.69) and Dale Tassbihi (5th, 21:29.16), Northwest High School’s girls cross country team won Saturday’s 2012 Prince George’s County Invitational.

Diego Zarate finished second in the boys race in a time of 16:52.37 to lead the Jaguars to the boys title.

Bertrand wins again

Will Bertrand’s first foray into the world of high school cross country running continues to be a successful one as the Clarksburg runner defeated the competition, including Linganore’s Patrick DuBoyce, to capture the Frank Keyser Large School race in a time of 15:01.3.

Bertrand defeated DuBoyce, the runner-up, by 12 seconds, Our Lady of Good Counsel’s Collin Crilly took fourth place (15:23.6) and Gaithersburg’s Daniel Belay finished ninth (16:07.2).

In the small school boys race, Poolesville’s Chase Weaverling cruised to first place in a time of 15:02.9 and Rockville’s Jonathon Baginksi placed fourth in a time of 15:59.5.

In the girls small school race, Poolesville’s Clair Beautz and Chelsie Pennello took third and fifth place, respectively, in times of 18:42.8 and 19:26.1.

Srour races to second place in North Carolina

Winston Churchill cross country runner Lucy Srour cruised to second place at last weekend’s Red race at the Great American Cross Country Festival in Cary, N.C. She completed the race in 18:42.2 and the Bulldogs finished fifth with 174 points. The Red race was captured by Shaker (N.Y.) and its 106 points.

Churchill’s David Fitzgerald placed third in the boys Blue race, crossing the finish line in 16:23.2. The Bulldogs finished sixth as a team with 149 points; Roswell (Ga.) captured the Blue race with a score of 57.

In the boys seeded race, Sherwood’s Dustin Kang paced the Warriors by taking 29th in a time of 16:35 and in the girls Blue race, Sherwood’s (2nd place) Amanda Hayes-Puttfarken and Amanda Tomlinson finished ninth and 10th, respectively, in times of 20:22 and 20:94.4. Kentucky’s Oldham County won the meet with 18 points, capturing the top four spots individually.

Gyau wins at Landon Invitational

Bullis freshman cross country runner Mia-Irene Gyau took first (19:42.92) at last weekend’s Landon Invitational to outpace Academy of Holy Cross’ runner-up Kiernan Keller.

Keller’s team, however, won the meet with Julia Pitts (21:02.05) and Anna-Sophia Capizzi (21:08.46) bolstering her performance by taking fifth and ninth, respectively.

In the boys race, Alex Hadley of The Heights recorded the county’s best, taking sixth in 17:55.45. Landon’s Kevin Soraci (17:59.04) and Adam Brill (18:08.62) took seventh and 10th place, respectively, to lead the Bears to the county’s best team finish (fourth).

Woodrow Wilson (D.C.) won with a score of 80.

Walter Johnson wins three-way tie for county title

It’s with terrible agony to realize that, after more than a month of golf and 3,634 combined shots between the top three finishers in the county standings — Walter Johnson, Thomas S. Wootton and Walt Whitman High Schools — all tied with 13-4-1 records, the tiebreaker would come down to just one solitary shot.

The three-way knot was broken by regular season head-to-head matchups between the schools, which Walter Johnson ultimately won as they had beaten both Wootton and 2011 champion Whitman. While the margin of victory the Wildcats enjoyed over the Patriots was a little more decisive, Walter Johnson edged Whitman by just one shot to earn the regular season county title.

“I did not know what type of team we’d end up with this year,” Walter Johnson coach Richard Payne said. “We have one senior, three freshmen, two juniors and one sophomore so there was no way of me anticipating where we would end up.”

The Wildcats’ lone senior, Evan Shapiro, played a critical role in Walter Johnson’s ascent, finishing with the second-best scoring average in the county (37) while never once signing for anything more than 39. Perhaps even more crucial, however, was the consistency that lay in the Wildcats’ bottom four starters.

While most teams boast an absurdly talented No. 1 man who could go under par at any point, there is typically a cliff around the No. 4 player where scores will hike up into the mid-40s. Not so with Walter Johnson.

Every single Wildcat starter posted at least one round in the 30s and all had averages of 42 or below.

“That consistency absolutely played the most important part,” Payne said. “We won matches by a single stroke…all six players can mean so much.”

As Payne and the rest of the Walter Johnson squad can attest, that single stroke can mean a heck of a lot.

Sherwood won the intermediate Kyle division and earned the rights to become a contender in the elite Yachmetz division next season. Undefeated Richard Montgomery easily claimed the bottom-tier Cohut division title and will also jump up divisions in 2013.

Bethesda-Chevy Chase’s Nathan Tenpas didn’t have much trouble grabbing the individual crown, capping off a remarkably consistent season with a 36.33 average, .67 strokes better than runner-up Shapiro.

Wootton’s Delaney Shah stole the girls low medalist title with a 38.17 average. Closely following in second was teammate Allison Wong (39.33).

Best Bets:

Girl’s District Tournament at Laytonsville Golf Course, Wednesday 12 p.m.

County Championship at Rattlewood Golf Course, Monday 3 p.m.