Olney, Brookeville leaders set example of service and leadership -- Gazette.Net







Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Leave a Comment
Print this Article

Girl Scout Association 31 held its annual spring meeting last month at B'nai Shalom of Olney, honoring 28 local men and women who volunteer with Girl Scout troops in the Olney/Brookeville community. This includes troops that draw from Belmont, Greenwood and Olney elementary schools, Rosa Parks Middle School, Sherwood High School, and St. John's Episcopal School.

Ellen Karavangelos, Diane Gilner, Lori Dove, Beni Devine, Christie Berman, Vicky Aceto, Virginia Gallagher and Samantha Irwin received Outstanding Leader pins for service to their girls and troops that went above and beyond.

Andrew Murphy, Karen Leventhal, Tara Goldstein, Richard Bertin, Tami Abramowitz, Gena Howard, Suzanne Kinnard, Inez Martinez, Nancy Shapiro, Christine Young and Samantha Zolnerowich received Outstanding Volunteer pins for their tremendous support of troops and Girl Scouting.

Cathy Bertin received a special pin for achieving her 45th year as a Girl Scout, including her years as a girl and adult.

The following volunteers received Presidential Service Award pins for hours of service not only to Girl Scouting, but also in other volunteer activities in the community including PTA, schools, churches, and temples:

Gold (more than 500 hours): Elizabeth Lakey, Carole Levy and Carole Roberts.

Silver (250-499 hours): Tami Abramowitz and Vicky Aceto.

Bronze (100-249 hours): Monica Kenney-Jacobs, Amanda Leonard and Julie Mulkey.