34 Prince George’s schools to change bell times -- Gazette.Net


Prince George’s County middle schools will add 40 minutes of instructional time to their school day this fall, shifting each school’s bell times.

“We value increased instructional time,” said A. Duane Arbogast, the school system’s chief academic officer. “Wherever we can get it, we want to increase it.”

The additional time would allow teachers to focus on students at grade levels that struggle to meet state standards, officials said. The changes also will allow some middle schools to share buses with high school students, cutting about $5 million from the school system’s transportation costs, spokesman Briant Coleman wrote in an email to The Gazette.

A handful of other county schools, including early childhood centers, also will change their bell times.

Below is a listing of altered bell times provided by the county school system:

7:30 a.m. to 2:50 p.m.

Ÿ Benjamin Stoddert Middle School in Temple Hills

Ÿ Benjamin Tasker Middle School in Bowie

Ÿ Buck Lodge Middle School in Adelphi

Ÿ Charles Carroll Middle School in New Carrollton

Ÿ Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School in Laurel

Ÿ Ernest Everett Just Middle School in Mitchellville

Ÿ Gwynn Park Middle School in Brandywine

Ÿ Isaac Gourdine Middle School in Fort Washington

Ÿ Kettering Middle School

Ÿ Thurgood Marshall Middle School in Temple Hills

7:45 a.m. to 1:55 p.m.

Ÿ Laurel Elementary School

7:45 a.m. to 2:25 p.m.

Ÿ Frederick Douglass High School in Upper Marlboro

Ÿ Largo High School

8:15 a.m. to 3:35 p.m.

Ÿ Drew-Freeman Middle School in Suitland

Ÿ G. James Gholson Middle School in Landover

Ÿ Greenbelt Middle School

8:30 a.m. to 3:10 p.m.

Ÿ Forestville High School

9 a.m. to 4:20 p.m.

Ÿ Hyattsville Middle School

Ÿ James Madison Middle School in Upper Marlboro

Ÿ Kenmoor Middle School in Landover

Ÿ Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School in Beltsville

Ÿ Nicholas Orem Middle School in Beltsville

Ÿ Oxon Hill Middle School

Ÿ Samuel Ogle Middle School in Bowie

Ÿ Stephen Decatur Middle School in Clinton

Ÿ Thomas Johnson Middle School in Lanham

Ÿ Walker Mill Middle School in Capitol Heights

Ÿ William Wirt Middle School in Hyattsville

9:30 a.m. to 3:40 p.m.

Ÿ Chapel Forge Special Early Childhood Center in Bowie

Ÿ Frances R. Fuches Special Early Childhood Center in Beltsville

Ÿ H. Winship Wheatley Special Early Childhood Center in New Carrollton

Ÿ James Ryder Randall Elementary in Clinton

Ÿ Margaret Brent School in Landover

9:30 a.m. to 4:40 p.m.

Ÿ Academy of Health Sciences at Prince George’s Community College in Largo