2010 Prince George's County All-Gazette volleyball team -- Gazette.Net







Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Leave a Comment
Print this Article

Player of the Year

Tamara Leslie, Charles H. Flowers

The senior had 155 kills, 242 assists, 200 digs and 89 service aces from 276 service winners. Her performance led the Jaguars to 17 victories this season and their second 4A South Region title in the last five seasons. Leslie finished her career as Flowers' all-time leader in assists (681), service points (748) and digs (655), and she is second in both kills and aces.

Coach of the Year

Linda Henson-Hubb, Gwynn Park

Guided the senior-laden Yellow Jackets to a perfect season in the County 3A/2A/1A League and the top seed in the 2A South Region tournament. Gwynn Park also earned a win against County 4A League champion Charles H. Flowers.

First team

Jackie Schwarm, Lanham Christian

Senior outside hitter set the Lions' single-season and career records for kills and was named the Maryland Independent Schools Athletic League Player of the Year.

Julie Houchens, Roosevelt

Senior setter delivered more than 300 assists and converted on 322 of 351 serves with 88 aces, leading the Raiders to the 4A South Region final.

Bria Thomas, Gwynn Park

One of 10 seniors on the Yellow Jackets' roster, Thomas played a key role in the team's perfect league record and top seed in the 2A South Region playoffs.

Dani Driver, Seton

Versatile junior setter delivered 375 assists and had more than 100 service aces from 156 service winners for the Roadrunners.

Yaje Ngundam, Bowie

Junior notched 120 kills and nearly 100 aces to help the Bulldogs finish second in the County 4A League standings.

Moriah Perry, Surrattsville

Senior was a key component of the Hornets' second consecutive 1A South Region championship season.

Tai Heath, Douglass

Senior played a variety of roles as the Eagles went 11-4, leading the team in virtually every statistical category.

Carissa Hill, Pallotti

Sophomore helped the Panthers improve from two wins last year to nine this season in the tough Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference.

Second Team

Lydia Felter and Meya Ngundam, Roosevelt

Ashley Corporal and Loretta Owens, Bowie

LaPria Saunders and Candace Washington, Parkdale

Gillian Chop, Hanifa Addi and Darrisa Jones, Flowers

Danielle Hounshell and Amanda Lloyd, Seton

Whitney Irvin, Gwynn Park

Casey LiCausi, Laurel

Jade Newman, Lanham Christian

Sherline Hawkins, Largo

Kayondra Armstrong, Douglass

Surayyah Morris, Oxon Hill

Victoria Johnson, Pallotti

Lauren Chase, Riverdale Baptist

Johanna Rafael, Northwestern

Amber Walls, Surrattsville

Chika Ugogi, High Point