2010 Frederick County girls lacrosse All-Gazette team -- Gazette.Net







Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Leave a Comment
Print this Article

Player of the Year

Katie Chase, Glenelg, Sr., M

Tallied 80 points while guiding the Gladiators to the Class 2A-1A West Region championship game. Plans to join former Glenelg teammate Alayna Markwordt on the Ohio State University women's lacrosse team in the fall. Also one of the best draw players in the state.

Coach of the Year

Dawn Rothenhoefer, Middletown

Guided the Knights to a program-best 13-2 mark and first region championship appearance.

First Team

Brittain Altomare, Middletown, Jr., M

A 90-point scorer for the Knights.

Kelsea Ayers, Linganore, Jr., M

One of the most important figures in turning around the Lancers, totaled 73 points.

Jennie Ballenger, St. John's Catholic Prep, Sr., M

Last year's Player of the Year, didn't slow down at all, posting 91 goals and 35 assists. She will compete for the University of Maryland, Baltimore County next season.

Emily Boyce, Middletown, Jr., G

The anchor of the Knights defense totaled a save percentage of 58.

Hannah Gaw, Glenelg, Jr., D

Key member of Gladiators defensive unit and second team All-Howard County performer.

Lauren Gibson, Gov. Thomas Johnson, Sr., D

Arguably the county's best defender, Gibson will play at Indiana University of Pennsylvania next season.

Kayleigh Hinkle, Glenelg, Jr., A

Paced the Gladiators with 86 points.

Ashleigh Kassab, Walkersville, Sr., M

Repeat first-team midfielder tallied 59 goals and 10 assists. Will play at High Point University (N.C.) next season.

Britton Muir, Walkersville, Jr., M

Tallied 26 goals and 10 assists.

Erin Phelan, Catoctin, Soph., M

Scored 58 goals for the Cougars this season.

Madison Murphy, Middletown, Sr., D

Defensive anchor and team captain.

Marial Pierce, SJCP, So., M/A

Another highly productive option for the Vikings' potent offense.

Katie Rothenhoefer, Middletown, Jr., M

Tallied over 100 points for the Knights.

Taylor Salandara, Glenelg, Sr., D

Top-shelf defender who is headed to play for the defending national champions Maryland Terrapins.

Erin Slifer, South Carroll, Jr., M

First team all Chesapeake Conference player selected and played in prestigious Under Armour All-America Girls Lacrosse Classic Underclassmen game in early July.

Brooke Wilson, SJCP, So., M

Helped the Vikings to the Interscholastic Athletic Association C Conference title with over 50 goals.

Second Team

Rachel Ackley, Linganore, Sr., D

Kristen Carr, Glenelg, Jr., D

Nikki Collins, Urbana, So., A

Courtni Dadd, Urbana, Jr., A/M

Sarah Daly, Linganore, Sr., M

Kallie Guillen, Frederick, Jr., M

Kelly James, Gov. Thomas Johnson, Sr., M

Erin Kilonsky, Middletown, Sr., D

Katherine Lambert, Linganore, Sr., G

Hannah Linthicum, Middletown, Sr., M

Kathleen Maleski, South Carroll, Sr., D

Jillian Marchese, Urbana, Sr., A

Sarah McTamany, Gov. Thomas Johnson, Jr., A

Megan Middeke, SJCP, Sr., M

Emily Musselman, Walkersville, Fr., A

Honorable Mention

Sarah Collins, Walkersville

Kimmie DeLonge, South Carroll

Kerry Dunkle, Linganore

Alyssa Chavez, Walkersville

Olivia Gudewich, Gov. Thomas Johnson

Jordyn Hutchins, Brunswick

Julia Karcewski, Middletown

Shannon Matthews, Urbana

Kellie McLaughlin, Frederick

Morgan Molnar, Gov. Thomas Johnson

Kelly Murphy, Middletown

Madison Murphy, Middletown

Lauren O'Connell, Brunswick

Kelsey Phelan, Catoctin

Sierra Philleo, Urbana

Hayley Snell, Linganore

Nicole Thom, Catoctin

Erin Wein, Middletown

Lizzie Zareva, Walkersville