Prince George’s 2010 Gazette-star All-county baseball team -- Gazette.Net







Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Leave a Comment
Print this Article

Player of the Year

Kyle Riffe, DeMatha: The DeMatha senior was arguably the most feared hitter in the Washington Catholic Athletic Conference. He led the Stags with 11 home runs and 31 runs batted in, and was a WCAC first-team selection. He also added a .391 batting average and was second on the team with 34 hits. The third baseman also spent time on the mound, going 3-1 with one save. He had a 4.93 earned run average and struck out 19 batters in 27 innings. Riffe will continue his baseball and academic career at the United States Naval Academy in the fall.

Coach of the Year

Andrew Capece, Eleanor Roosevelt: Capece guided the Raiders to County 4A League and 4A South Region championships and a spot in the Class 4A state semifinals. The Raiders also were the only undefeated team in Prince George's County. Roosevelt achieved all of this with virtually the same team that lost in the regional quarterfinals a year ago. Roosevelt also is poised for another deep run next season with its top three pitchers returning.

First Team

Nikolay Uherek, DeMatha: Whenever the Stags played in a big game, the junior was on the mound. He finished with seven wins, including a victory against St. John's (D.C.) in the WCAC semifinals.

Abe Batal, Riverdale Baptist: The junior catcher finished with a .509 batting average and an .880 slugging percentage. He also led the Crusaders with eight home runs, 55 hits and 35 RBIs.

Matt Selmer, Riverdale Baptist: The senior tied Riverdale Baptist alum Kenny Nelson with 32 career victories. He won nine games this season and led the team with a 1.74 ERA and struck out 86 in 88 2/3 innings.

E. Jay Baldwin, Bishop McNamara: Baldwin was named to the WCAC first team after finishing his junior season with a .471 batting average and 10 home runs. He also scored 32 runs and added 32 RBIs and 35 hits.

Matt Chernesky, Eleanor Roosevelt: Chernesky was the ace of the Roosevelt pitching staff, going 9-0 with a 1.98 ERA. The junior struck out 49 in 46 innings, and also played first base and added a .471 batting average.

Mitch Kempisty, Eleanor Roosevelt: The Roosevelt leadoff hitter led the team with a .481 batting average and a .592 on-base percentage. The senior center fielder scored 30 runs and knocked in 22, while finishing second on the team with a .731 slugging percentage.

Stephan Pennix, Surrattsville: Pennix won four games for the Hornets and picked up two saves as the team won the County 3A/2A/1A League title and advanced to the Class 1A state semifinals. The senior finished with a 2.35 ERA and picked up the victory in the 1A South Region title game.

Zach Kapanoske, Laurel: Kapanoske picked up four wins for the Spartans and struck out 71 in 43 innings. The senior had a 2.44 ERA and pitched two complete-game one-hitters.

David Webster, Bowie: The junior led the Bulldogs with a .581 batting average and 24 RBIs. The left fielder also added 25 hits and six doubles, while striking out just five times all season.

Dylan Thompson, Bowie: The senior may have been the most difficult out in the County 4A League. He hit leadoff for the Bulldogs and finished with a .490 batting average and struck out just three times.

Malik Clark, Charles H. Flowers: The senior catcher hit .468 and added 36 RBIs, 29 hits and four home runs.

Jordan Martinez, Charles H. Flowers: The senior first baseman led the Jaguars with a .526 batting average and five home runs. He also added 34 RBIs and 30 hits.

Hanani Felton, Gwynn Park: The Gwynn Park junior utility player led the team with a .578 batting average and a .678 on-base percentage. He also led the team with 26 hits and picked up two wins on the mound.

Denzel Blanks, Frederick Douglass: The sophomore catcher led the Eagles with a .564 batting average, 34 runs scored, four home runs and 13 doubles. He threw out 13 runners this season and picked off five.

Second Team

Charlie Garner and Matt Bieler, Bowie; Christian Holmes and Jamal Clark, Flowers; Andrew Byrd and Robert Dawkins, Henry A. Wise; Matt DeFrank and Corey Dirks, St. Vincent Pallotti; Anthony Nicome and David Carmen, Laurel; Henry Faunce and Joe Bittner, DeMatha; Terrance Pittman, Douglass; Roberto Martinez and Aaron Alston, Roosevelt; Jack Hopkins and Andrew Tinder, McNamara; Lonzo Cook, Surrattsville; Stefan Gansert, Gwynn Park.