2009 Montgomery County girls tennis All-Gazette team -- Gazette.Net







Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Leave a Comment
Print this Article

Player of the Year

Lauren PinskyChurchill, Junior

Improved all-court game led to one-loss regular season, No. 1 singles county title. Will make third trip to state tournament this spring, but first as all-Montgomery Region II champion.

Coach of the Year

Ben WoodsChurchill, 10th year

Veteran's savvy, positive relationship with players led Bulldogs to third consecutive county title.

First team

Gabby DevlinHolton-Arms, Sr.

ISL No. 1 singles winner led Panthers to team title.

Olivia HoganGood Counsel, Soph.

Finished 11-4 with trip to WCAC tournament final.

Sarah MacyWhitman, Jr.

Steady baseliner produced formidable 11-3 record.

Ama OseiBullis, Jr.

Anchored singles roster; lost to Devlin in ISL semis.

Anna RozenbergB-CC, Fr.

Took county by storm before injury in final.

DoublesMaggie Yiin (Sr.)

Joanne Liu (Sr.)Churchill

Capped unbeaten season with No. 1 doubles county tournament title.

Tanya Bagheri (Soph.)

Jill Teitelbaum (Soph.)

ChurchillFuture of Churchill tennis finished 13-0 with No. 2 county title.

MaggieIngersoll (Sr.)

Haley Johnson (Jr.)

WhitmanUndefeated in regular season, lost to Churchill in county final.

Honorable mention

Robyn Baird (Churchill, Sr.)

Sarah Bernstein (WJ, Soph.)

Ariel Burke (Bullis, Sr.)

Sue Ghosh (Stone Ridge, Soph.)

Nicky Gottret (Whitman, Soph.)

Taylor Newman (B-CC, Jr.)

DoublesAnabel Hallewell (Jr.) &

Emily Hallewell (Fr.), Stone Ridge

Claire Barkett (Sr.) &

Olivia Hogan (Soph.), Good Counsel

Madison Yeutter (Jr.) &

Cameron Kelly (Jr.), B-CC