2009 Montgomery County boys tennis All-Gazette team -- Gazette.Net







Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Leave a Comment
Print this Article

Player of the Year

Timmy Klanke, Whitman, Sr.

Brown University-bound, avenged county semifinal loss in Region II title match on road to state boys singles title.

Coach of the Year

Steve Miguel, Bullis, first year

Avoided rebuilding, leading Bulldogs to sixth consecutive Interstate Athletic Conference, Ben Johns tournament titles.

First Team

Alvin Fludd, Bullis, Sr.

Explosive ground game led to undefeated season at No. 2 singles.

Taylor Hairston, Bullis, Jr.

Finished 13-1, including second consecutive Ben Johns No. 1 singles title.

Stephen Katzel, Northwest, Sr.

Went 13-3 en route to first county tournament final appearance.

Anton Kovrigin, Wootton, Soph.

Went 9-1, including win over Klanke, before injury ended postseason.

Felix Sun, Churchill, Sr.

Cerebral player added offense to go 17-3 and win county No. 1 singles title.

Aaron Hoffman (Jr.)/Victor Osnos (Sr.), Whitman

Teamed for second straight undefeated season, county No. 1 doubles title.

Harper Leahy (Sr.)/Paul Park (Jr.), Bullis

Unbeaten this spring, 26-1 over two years, won second straight Ben Johns title.

Jacob Lipman (Soph.)/Julian Mu (Fr.), Wootton

First-year partners went 11-1 at No. 1 doubles, took second at county tourney.

Honorable mention

Kevin Chu, Churchill, Soph.

Pablo Gottret, Whitman, Jr.

Patrick Mulquin, Georgetown Prep., Sr.

Neil Soni, Northwest, Sr.

Eiichiro Okuyama, Wootton, Soph.

Dukyoung Park, Blair, Jr.

Matt Hwang (Jr.)/Jason Teitelbaum (Jr.), Churchill

George Burton (Sr.)/Ian MacIness (Jr.), Georgetown Prep

Eric Harris (Sr.)/Pavan Sethi (Sr.), Churchill