2008 Montgomery All-Gazette boys cross country team -- Gazette.Net


Runner of the Year

Solomon Haile, Sherwood, Senior

Blew away competition and set course records in nearly every event he ran. Won counties, regions, states (15:43).

Coach of the Year

Tom Martin, Walter Johnson, 3rd year

Led Wildcats to team victories at all three postseason meets: counties, regionals, 4A states.

First Team

-Ramsey Chapin, Georgetown Prep, Sr.

Led Little Hoyas to IAC title by finishing third at IAC championship meet.

-Nicolas Escobar, Magruder, Jr.

Colonels' top runner placed third at regionals, fourth at counties and 13th at 4A states.

-Sean King, Churchill, Sr.

Ran personal-best time of 16:01 at counties, placing fifth.

-Chris Miller, Northwest, Soph.

Helped Jags to third at 4A states by finishing sixth; 11th at counties, fourth at regionals.

-Sean O'Leary, Walter Johnson, Sr.

Led Wildcats to titles by finishing sixth at counties, regionals, fifth at states.

-Andrew Palmer, Whitman, Jr.

Consistently second-best runner in state. Should be man to beat in 2009.

-Antonio Palmer, Gaithersburg, Sr.

Outstanding finish to high school career by taking third at counties, states (16:54).

-Jack Strabo, Landon, Jr.

Stellar season as Bears' top runner ended with winning IAC title (16:06).

-Alex Willett, Walter Johnson, Soph.

Helped bring home Class 4A title by finishing seventh; fifth at regionals.

Honorable mention

Thomas Arias, Damascus, Jr.

Kyle Balderson, Sherwood, Sr.

Wayne Bartholomew, Quince Orchard, Sr.

Vikas Bhatia, Gaithersburg, Sr.

Ishan Dey, Walter Johnson, Jr.

Kyle Graves, Good Counsel, Jr.

Chris Gregorski, Magruder, Sr.

Rutvij Pandya, Blair, Sr.

Brandt Silver-Korn, Whitman, Jr.

Roni Teich, Walter Johnson, Sr.