2006 Montgomery All-Gazette boys swimming and diving team -- Gazette.Net







Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Leave a Comment
Print this Article

Coach of the Year

Geoff Schaeffer

WhitmanLacking the depth of some teams, Schaeffer used his lineup-crafting talent to rebound from a 2-3 regular season and fourth-place finish at the Division I meet to claim first in counties and fourth at Metros, the highest of any public-school team and Whitman’s best result since 1976.

Swimmer of the Year

Josh HafkinGeorgetown Prep, Jr.

Only multi-race winner at Metros. Broke the 50-yard freestyle and 100 backstroke meet records. Broke Interstate Athletic Conference record in the 50 freestyle.

First team

Matthew Cooper, Whitman, Jr.

All-American diver dominated county and Metros diving competitions.

Brady Fox, Georgetown Prep, Fr.

Won 500 freestyle at Metros and finished second in 100 backstroke and set IAC record in 500 freestyle.

Robert Grimmett-Norris, Georgetown Prep, Jr.

Won 200 freestyle at Metros and finished second in 500 freestyle. Placed first in 200 individual medley and 500 freestyle at WMPSSDLs.

Josh Klotz, Whitman, Sr.

Broke county record in 50 freestyle. Finished second in 50 and 100 freestyle at Metros.

Joe Knecht, Walter Johnson, Jr.

Racked up first-place finishes in 100 butterfly at Metros and county meet, also finished second in 50 freestyle at counties.

Adam Meyer, Whitman, Sr.

Won 200 individual medley at Metros and finished second in 100 breaststroke.

Haywood Miller, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Jr.

Picked up fourth place in 200 individual medley and 100 breaststroke at Metros and won 100 breaststroke at county meet.

Brock Park, Landon, Soph.

Won 100 freestyle at Metros and WMPSSDLs, also picked up third in 50 freestyle in the latter.

Sean Stewart, Wootton, Soph.

Won 200 and 500 freestyles at county competition. Finished third and fifth in those events at Metros.

Second team

Eric Friedland, Walter Johnson, Soph.

Sandy Haibel, Richard Montgomery, Soph.

David Iselin, Churchill, Sr.

Kirk Jackson, Poolesville, Jr.

Ben Mechak, Magruder, Jr.

Patrick Meck, Wootton, Sr.

Mark Meyer, Whitman, Soph.

Andrew Relihan, Georgetown Prep, Soph.

Kevin Vallario, Good Counsel, Fr.

Tyler Wilchek, Blair, Sr.