ADVERTISEMENT


ADVERTISEMENT


ADVERTISEMENT



FEATURED JOBS




COMMUNITY GUIDE   |   GO TO COMMUNITY GUIDE HOME PAGE  |


Browse Community Guide



Frederick County -- Municipal Governments




Brunswick

City Hall
1 W. Potomac St.
Brunswick, MD 21716
301-834-7500
www.brunswickmd.gov
The Brunswick City Council meets at 7 p.m. on the second and fourth Tuesdays of every month in city hall. The next election is August 2012.
Town officials
Mayor Karin Tome, 301-834-7500 ext. 7, mayortome@brunswickmd.gov

City Council
Andy Alger, 301-834-7500 ext. 7, alger@brunswickmd.gov
Mary Elizabeth Bowie, 301-834-7500 ext. 7, bowie@brunswickmd.org
Elliss Burruss,301-834-7500 ext. 7, burruss@brunswickmd.gov
Jeff Snoots, 301-834-7500 ext. 7, snoots@brunswickmd.gov
Walt Stull, 301-834-7500 ext. 7, stull@brunswickmd.gov
Angel White, 301-834-7500 ext. 7, white@brunswickmd.gov

Public Works, 301-834-6270


Burkittsville

Town of Burkittsville
P.O. Box 485
Burkittsville, MD 21718-0485
301-834-6780
www.burkittsville-md.gov
Town meetings are held at 7:30 p.m. at the Burkittsville Ruritan building on the second Monday of January, March, May July, September and November.

Mayor Debby Burgoyne

Town Council Shelby Beaver, Larry Beller, Catherine Cox


Emmitsburg

Emmitsburg Town Hall
300A S. Seton Ave.
Emmitsburg, MD 21727
301-600-6300
www.emmitsburg.net
The first settlers in the area, then known as the Tom’s Creek Hundred, were Robert and Elizabeth Wilson, who arrived sometime around 1733.

Town meetings take place at 7:30 p.m. on the first and third Monday of every month.

Town officials
Mayor Don Briggs, 301-600-6300, mayorbriggs@emmitsburgmd.gov

Commissioners
Jim Hoover, 301-447-2140, jhoover@emmitsburgmd.gov
Tim O’Donnell, 301-447-3839, todonnell@emmitsburgmd.gov
Patrick A. Joy, 301-447-6467, pjoy@emmitsburgmd.gov
Christopher V. Staiger (president), 301-447-3757, cstaiger@emmitsburgmd.gov
Clifford L. Sweeney, 301-447-1712, csweeney@emitsburgmd.gov

Town Manager David Haller, 301-600-6300, dhaller@emmitsburgmd.gov
Town Clerk Donna DesPres, 301-600-6300, ddespres@emmitsburgmd.gov

Public Works Sewer Plant: 301-447-3141
Water Plant: 301-447-3972


Frederick

Frederick City Hall
101 N. Court St.
Frederick, MD 21701
301-600-1385
The Mayor and Board of Aldermen of Frederick City meet at 7 p.m. on the first and third Thursdays of the month in Frederick’s City Hall. The Mayor and Board of Aldermen also have weekly workshops at 3 p.m. Wednesdays.

City officials
Mayor Randy McClement (R), 301-600-1380, mayor@cityoffrederick.com

Board of Aldermen
Alderman Shelley Aloi (R), 301-600-1632, saloi@cityoffrederick.com
Alderman Carol Krimm (D), 301-600-1863, ckrimm@cityoffrederick.com
Alderman Michael O’Connor (D), 301-600-1386, moconnor@cityoffrederick.com
Alderman Kelly Russell (D), 301-600-2966, krussell@cityoffrederick.com
Alderman Karen Young (D), 301-600-1382, kyoung@cityoffrederick.com

Public meetings
Airport Commission 7 p.m. fourth Thursday
Zoning Board of Appeals 7 p.m. fourth Tuesday
County Municipalities Meeting 2 p.m. second Tuesday
Historic Preservation Commission 6 p.m. second Thursday
Historic Preservation Commission 6 p.m. fourth Thursday
Mayor and Board of Aldermen 7 p.m. first and third Thursday
Mayor and Board of Aldermen Workshop 3 p.m. Wednesday
Parks and Recreation Commission 7 p.m. second Tuesday
Planning Commission 6 p.m. second Monday
Development Review Conference 2 p.m. third Thursday Streets and Sanitation Committee 9:15 a.m. third Tuesday

Neighborhood Advisory Councils The City of Frederick’s neighborhoods are broken down into advisory groups which consist of residents which meet regularly so the members can advise the city on issues, such as traffic, safety, zoning, and more. Call Michele Bowman, administrator of the Frederick Police Department’s community services division at 301-600-2091.

Additional Numbers Public Information Office, 301-600-1385
Emergency Information Hotline, 301-600-1300


Lake Linganore

Lake Linganore Association
6718 Coldstream Drive
New Market, MD 21774
301-831-6400
www.lakelinganore.org
The Lake Linganore Association Board of Directors is a seven-person board that oversees application of the covenants for the community which is between Frederick and New Market. The board meets at 7 p.m. on the first Monday of each month to discuss issues brought up by residents of the Lake Linganore and Eaglehead communities.

General Manager Bernie Howe, 301-831-6400 ext. 111
Board of Directors
President Hilary Moore
Vice President Dana Schlichting
Secretary Liz Timberlake
Treasurer Katherine Hembree
Directors Glenn Weigler and Mark DeBord


Middletown

Middletown Municipal Center
31 W. Main St.
Middletown, MD 21769
301-371-6171
Middletown was first settled by English and German settlers in about 1740. The property was sold to Michael Jesserong for 66 English pounds. The first lots in the town were sold in 1767, officially marking the town's founding.

Town meetings take place at 7 p.m. on the second and fourth Mondays of each month in the Middletown Municipal Center.

Local officials
Burgess John D. Miller, 301-371-6171, burgess@ci.middletown.md.us

Board of Commissioners
Larry K. Bussard, lbussard@ci.middletown.md.us Richard L. Dietrick, rdietrick@ci.middletown.md.us Jennifer J. Falcinelli, jfalcinelli@ci.middletown.md.us
Christopher I. Goodman, cgoodman@ci.middletown.md.us
Anthony M. Ventre, aventre@ci.middletown.md.us

Town Administrator Andrew J. Bowen, 301-371-6171, abowen@ci.middletown.md.us

Meetings
Planning Commission: 7 p.m. second Wednesday Parks and Recreation: 7 p.m. third Tuesday


Mount Airy

Town Hall
210 S. Main St.
Mount Airy, MD 21771
301-829-1424
The Town of Mount Airy is governed by a mayor and five council members who oversee the various town departments. The mayor is chief executive officer, responsible for the administration of the towns’ affairs. The mayor may take part in discussions at council meetings but does not have a vote. However, the mayor may veto ordinances, except budget and bond issues. A four-fifths vote of the council can override a mayor’s veto. Council members are elected on an alternating basis for four-year terms. The last election was held in May 2010.

The Mount Airy mayor and town council meets at 7:30 p.m. on the first Monday of every month in town hall. The town is scheduled to hold an election May 1 that could change the makeup of the council.

Town officials
Mayor Pat Rockinberg, prockinberg@gmail.com

Town Council
David Blais, david@davidblais.com
Chris Everich, Chris.everich@gmail.com
Peter Helt, councilmanhelt@aol.com
Dave Pyatt, dpyatt2@verizon.net
Bob King, Councilmanking5@aol.com
Scott Strong, councilman.strong@gmail.com

Planning and Zoning Commission: 7 p.m., last Monday of the month
Board of Parks and Recreation Committee: 7:30 p.m., third Thursday of the month
Main Street Association: 7:30 p.m. third Tuesday of the month
Streets and Roads Commission: 7:30 p.m., fourth Thursday of the month
Sanitation and Recycling Commission: 7 p.m., third Wednesday of every other month
Economic Development Commission: 7:30 p.m., fourth Wednesday of the month
Mount Airy Growth and Development Task Force: As needed
Water and Sewer Commission: 7 p.m., first Wednesday of the month
Call Town Hall at 301-829-1424 to confirm meeting times.

All meet in town hall.


Myersville

Myersville Municipal Center & Town Hall
301 Main St.
P.O. Box 295
Myersville, MD 21773
301-293-4281
www.myersville.org
The Mayor and Town Council of Myersville meet at 7 p.m. on the second Tuesday of the month in the municipal building. A rapidly growing community of about 1,380 people, Myersville is located on a ridge in the foothills of South Mountain along Interstate 70 in the western edge of Frederick County. The town was incorporated in 1904 by the Maryland General Assembly. The mayor and five council members, one of which serves as assistant mayor and one as secretary, are each elected to four-year terms.

Town officials
Mayor Wayne S. Creadick Jr., 301-293-4281, mayor@myersville.org

Town Council
Gary DeMoss, gdemoss@myersville.org
Mark Flynn, mflynn@myersville.org
Mark F. Hinkle (assistant mayor), mhinkle@myersville.org
Brett Bidle, bbidle@myersville.org
Mark Etheridge, metheridge@myersville.org

Town Manager Kristin Aleshire


New Market

Town Hall
39 W. Main St.
New Market, MD 21774
301-865-5544
www.townofnewmarket.org
In 1790, William Plummer, a Quaker, joined with Nicholas Hall to lay out the small town in 1793. The Mayor and Town Council meet at 7 p.m. on the second Wednesday of each month.

Town officials
Mayor Winslow Burhans III, mayorburhans@townofnewmarket.org

Town Council
Dennis Kimble, Rita Mueller, David Price, Jake Romanell, Shane Rossman, towncouncil@townofnewmarket.org

Town Clerks Deb Butler and Karen Durbin
Town officials Bruce Galloway - zoning administrator; William Wantz - town attorney; Shawn Burnett - town engineer


Rosemont

Mailing Address
1219 Rosemont Drive
Rosemont, MD 21758
The Village of Rosemont, which is nestled just outside of Brunswick, has an official population of 273 and has its own elected government. The burgess and commissioners serve two-year terms. Meetings take place at 6:30 p.m. on the fourth Mondays of January, March, May, July, September and November.

Village officials
Burgess Thomas Watson
Commissioners David Blackmon, Stephen Harshman, Helen Richardson, Joesph Wiles

Clerk/Treasurer Mary Slagle

Meeting Address:Lions Club Merryland Park, Petersville Road, Rosemont


Thurmont

Thurmont, MD 21727
The Mayor and Town Council of Thurmont meet at 7 p.m. Mondays in the town office.

Town officials
Mayor Martin A. Burns, mburns@thurmont.com

Commissioners
Bill Buehrer, bbuehrer@thurmont.com
Wayne Hooper, whooper@thurmont.com
John Kinnaird, jkinnaird@thurmont.com
Ronald A. Terpko, rterpko@thurmont.com


Woodsboro

Located four miles north of Walkersville, Woodsboro is one of the few municipalities in Frederick County still considered a small town. With an estimated population of 890, officials have been successful in avoiding growth encountered by many towns. Meetings take place at 7 p.m. the second Tuesday and fourth Monday of each month.

Town officials
Burgess Gary Smith

Commissioners Scott Brakebill, William P. Rittelmeyer, Chris Spruill, Donald Trimmer

Town secretary Mary Rice